NFL Announces MVP Finalists

The National Football League will unveil the Most Valuable Player and other award recipients for the 2023 season on February 8, with finalists for these honors announced by the Associated Press on Thursday.

Baker Mayfield runs the Tampa Bay Buccaneers offense against the Pittsburgh Steelers on August 11th, 2023 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa. FL – Kyle Zedacker /Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Lamar Jackson, the quarterback for the Ravens, stands as the leading contender for his second MVP title, officially designated as a finalist for the prestigious award. Alongside, he contends as a finalist for Offensive Player of the Year, joined by 49ers’ running back Christian McCaffrey and Cowboys’ quarterback Dak Prescott.

McCaffrey represents the lone non-quarterback finalist for the MVP accolade. Completing the list of MVP finalists are his teammate Brock Purdy and Bills quarterback Josh Allen.

Finalists for other distinguished awards are as follows:

Defensive Player of the Year:
– Cowboys cornerback DaRon Bland
– Raiders defensive end Maxx Crosby
– Browns defensive end Myles Garrett
– Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons
– Steelers linebacker T.J. Watt

Offensive Player of the Year:
– Dolphins wide receiver Tyreek Hill
– Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson
– Cowboys wide receiver CeeDee Lamb
– 49ers running back Christian McCaffrey
– Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott

Offensive Rookie of the Year:
– Lions running back Jahmyr Gibbs
– Lions tight end Sam LaPorta
– Rams wide receiver Puka Nacua
– Falcons running back Bijan Robinson
– Texans quarterback C.J. Stroud

Defensive Rookie of the Year:
– Texans defensive end Will Anderson
– Eagles defensive tackle Jalen Carter
– Steelers cornerback Joey Porter Jr.
– Rams defensive tackle Kobie Turner
– Seahawks cornerback Devon Witherspoon

Comeback Player of the Year:
– Browns quarterback Joe Flacco
– Bills safety Damar Hamlin
– Buccaneers quarterback Baker Mayfield
– Rams quarterback Matthew Stafford
– Dolphins quarterback Tua Tagovailoa

Coach of the Year:
– Lions head coach Dan Campbell
– Ravens head coach John Harbaugh
– Texans head coach DeMeco Ryans
– 49ers head coach Kyle Shanahan
– Browns head coach Kevin Stefanski

Assistant Coach of the Year:
– Lions offensive coordinator Ben Johnson
– Ravens defensive coordinator Mike Macdonald
– Ravens offensive coordinator Todd Monken
– Browns defensive coordinator Jim Schwartz
– Texans offensive coordinator Bobby Slowik

Back to top button