NFL Honors presented at Super Bowl Week, Lamar Jackson MVP

Las Vegas, NV – The NFL handed out awards from the 2023 season at the 13th Annual NFL Honors presented by Invisalign, an Align Technology brand, the annual two-hour primetime awards special that recognizes the NFL’s best players, performances, and plays.

Among the highlighted awards, Baltimore Ravens QB Lamar Jackson took home his second NFL MVP award.

Baltimore’s All-Pro quarterback received 49 of 50 first-place votes from a nationwide panel of voters that includes media members who regularly cover the NFL, former players, and coaches.

The 27-year-old Jackson is the fourth player to win his second MVP before turning 28, joining Patrick Mahomes (27), Brett Favre (27), and Jim Brown (22).

Henderson, Nevada, USA, February 8, 2024, 49ers Running back Christian McCaffrey during the Pre Super Bowl Press Conference (Photo Credit: Marty Jean-Louis)

49ers running back Christian McCaffrey was awarded the AP Offensive Player of the Year award, as well as the Jim Brown award for excellence as a running back.

McCaffrey, a unanimous choice for All-Pro, led the NFL with 1,459 yards rushing and had 14 rushing TDs for the NFC champion 49ers. He also had 564 yards receiving for seven scores.

McCaffrey is the fourth running back to win the award in the last 10 years, joining Derrick Henry, Todd Gurley, and DeMarco Murray.

Ken Stefanski of the Cleveland Browns won the AP Coach of the Year award, presented by Verizon. Miles Garrett of the Cleveland Browns took home the AP Defensive Player of the year award.

Las Vegas, Nevada, USA, February 7, Houston Texans Quarterback CJ Stroud posing for pictures after receiving an award during the 25th Annual Super Bowl Soulfoul Celebration at the Palms Resort in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo Credit: Marty Jean-Louis)

Houston Texans QB CJ Stroud was announced as the 2023 season’s Offensive Rookie of the Year after a miraculous year.

Stroud, the No. 2 overall pick, threw for 4,108 yards, 23 touchdowns, five interceptions and had a passer rating of 100.8, third-best by a rookie.

Stroud led the league in passing yards per game (273.9) and had the best touchdown-interception ratio at 4.6, becoming just the third player in NFL history to finish first in both categories, joining Joe Montana (1989) and Tom Brady (2007).

Henderson, Nevada, USA, February 9, 2024, Cameron Heyward speaking during the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Event At the Donald W. Reynolds Boys & Girls Club (Photo Credit: Marty Jean-Louis)

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide was awarded to Cameron Heyward Pittsburgh Steelers.

Hayward, son of legendary running back Craig “Ironhead” Heyward, has over 12 initiatives in his community to help out underprivileged youth in Pittsburgh.

Heyward was stunned that it was Prince Harry, England’s Duke of York, that announce the winner and handed him the award. “It’s freaking Prince Harry!” he exclaimed as he approached the mike to speak.

The actual awards will be broadcast on Saturday February 10 on CBS.

The full list of awards and finalists includes:

AP Most Valuable Player presented by Invisalign Lamar Jackson Baltimore Ravens
AP Coach of the Year presented by Verizon Kevin Stefanski Cleveland Browns
AP Offensive Player of the Year presented by Microsoft Surface Christian McCaffrey
San Francisco 49ers

AP Defensive Player of the Year presented by TCL Myles Garrett Cleveland Browns
AP Comeback Player of the Year presented by P&G and the Official Locker Room Products of the NFL (Gillette, Head & Shoulders, Old Spice, Tide) Joe Flacco
Cleveland Browns

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year C.J. Stroud Houston Texans
AP Defensive Rookie of the Year Will Anderson
Houston Texans

AP Assistant Coach of the Year Jim Schwartz Cleveland Browns

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide Cameron Heyward Pittsburgh Steelers
Salute to Service Award presented by USAA Joe Cardona Salute to Service Award presented by USAA
Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Bobby Wagner Seattle Seahawks
Deacon Jones Sack Leader Award T.J. Watt Pittsburgh Steelers
Jim Brown Award Christian McCaffrey San Fracisco 49ers
NFL Fan of the Year presented by Captain Morgan Tom Grossi Green Bay Packers
NFL FLAG Players of the Year
Girls: Allison Gandlin, Staten Island, NY, and Boys: Ryder Noche, Phoenix, Ariz.

Next Gen Stats Moment of the Year powered by AWS CeeDee Lamb Dallas Cowboys
FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year

Air: Brock Purdy – San Francisco 49ers

Ground: Christian McCaffrey – San Francisco 49ers

Bud Light Easy to Celebrate Moment of the Year Tommy DeVito New York Giants


Back to top button