‘Hidden Figures’ Wins Big at the NAACP Image Awards

The 48th annual NAACP Image Awards were presented this Saturday, honoring those who have been outstanding in Entertainment in the past year. The awards specifically put a spotlight on projects with representation of minorities.

Projects that took home awards included “Hidden Figures,” “This Is Us,” “Black-ish” and “Queen Sugar.”

Upon accepting his 20th NAACP Image award for outstanding actor in a motion picture in “Fences,” Denzel Washington spoke at length, motivating the newer artists who were listening.

“I am particularly happy and proud about the young filmmakers, actors, singers, writers, producers that are coming up behind my generation,” he said, citing “Moonlight” director Barry Jenkins. “It’s not easy. If it was easy, there’d be no Kerry Washington, Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer, Viola Davis, Mykelti Williamson, Stephen McKinley Henderson, Russell Hornsby, and there’d be no Denzel Washington.”

Host Anthony Anderson couldn’t help but touch on the present political climate in his monologue and throughout the show. “Where the hell was Steve Harvey when we needed him to announce the presidential election?” joked the “black-ish” star, which got a huge laugh from the crowd.

It was Trevor Noah, however, who made the first direct jab at the expense of the current commander-in-chief when he said: “This room is so black and beautiful. It’s so black that it looks like a photo negative of the Trump administration.”

“The Daily Show” host went on, “Well let’s get to it; I’m black and an immigrant so I don’t have much time.”

The audience also included Rep. Maxine Waters, Dwayne Johnson, Kerry Washington, Uzo Aduba, Tracee Ellis Ross, Terrence Howard, Taraji P. Henson, Regina King, Laverne Cox, TV One founder Cathy Hughes, and the entire adult cast of NBC’s “This Is Us,” which stood up to cheer after Sterling K. Brown took the best actor in a drama series trophy.

A big winner in the event was the movie “Hidden Figures”, which took home awards for  Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture for Taraji P Henson as well as Outstanding Motion Picture.

The ceremony not only presented awards to entertainers, but to community activists and humanitarians as well. Harvard Law School professor Charles J. Ogletree Jr. and historian Lonnie G. Bunch, III also received honors at the star-studded event.

Bunch, who is the founding director of the Smithsonian’s National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington, D.C., accepted his award thanking the NAACP for the part that it has played in history.

“There is nothing more noble honoring all of our ancestors than remembering,” he ended, receiving a standing ovation.

Here are a list of some of the notable award recipients from the NAACP Image Awards:

Outstanding Comedy Series – black-ish (ABC)

Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series – Anthony Anderson – black-ish (ABC)

Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series – Tracee Ellis Ross – black-ish (ABC)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series – Lawrence Fishburne – blackish (ABC)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series – Tischina Arnold – Survivors Remorse (Starz)

Outstanding Drama Series – Queen Sugar (OWN)

Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series – Sterling K. Brown – This is Us (NBC)

Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series – Taraji P Henson – Empire (Fox)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series – Jussie Smollett – Empire (Fox)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series – Naturi Naughton – Power (Starz)

Outstanding Talk Series – Steve Harvey (Syndicated)

Outstanding Male Artist – Maxwell (Columbia)

Outstanding Female Artist – Beyonce – (Columbia Record/Parkwood Entertainment)

Outstanding Motion Picture – Hidden Figures

Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture – Denzel Washington – Fences

Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture – Taraji P Henson – Hidden Figures

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture – Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture – Viola Davis – Fences

Entertainer of the Year – Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson

The Jackie Robinson Sports Award – LeBron James

The Chairman’s Award – Charles E Ogletree, JR

The President’s Award – Lonnie G. Bunche III



Back to top button